Re-entering the Arena

I have had barely enough energy to move lately.  Apparently trying to find just the right dresser on Craigslist is really tiring.  But I did, in a fit of I-must-do-something-productive-before-I-stay-up-until-5-AM-again-ness, manage to find myself standing in front of my stove.  The burners were taunting me, daring me to actually cook something instead of just cutting open a frozen Barilla meal and calling it dinner.

I have been fantastically lazy in my approach to food lately, and I’m hoping being held accountable by the unseen internet blog masses will help me change that.  I find it rather amazing that having literally no schedule, no day job or anything that must be done that day, can actually fill your time.  I get up, check email, pet the cat, let the rabbit out, check email, haunt Craigslist for a couple hours, check email, look at job listings, check email, check email, check email, watch every show my DVR caught for me the night before (suck on that commercials!), check email, etc and suddenly it’s 2 AM and I realize all I’ve eaten that day was yogurt, diet 7-UP, pasta with butter and parmesan, and a glass of milk.  Healthy, eh?  I haven’t always been this way!  Ok, that’s quite possibly the biggest lie I’ve ever told.

I hate vegetables.  And meat.  And recently I’ve developed unexplained allergies to legumes, most fruit, eggs, and processed flour/wheat products.  Sometimes I find it amazing that I’m still alive.  I really shouldn’t be, since evolution would have kicked me off the natural selection ladder about 10 years ago if it weren’t for modern medicine and my mother’s desire to not have her daughter die of kidney failure.  Apparently eating almost no protein for the first 12 years of your existence causes your body to eat itself.  Who knew that Kraft powdered cheese wasn’t an excellent nutritional source?

So at the ripe old age of 13, I found myself faced with the necessity to actually eat all the things that I had been experimentally cooking for so many years, but never actually sampling.  Yes, I would cook smoked salmon for my family for dinner and then fix myself a cheese quesadilla while they told me how tender it was.  I was a strange child.

And now that I seem to have back-slid to the days of carbs, carbs, and more carbs, I must reenter the kitchen and remember that it is not just there to house my microwave.  That big, steel contraption taking up half of the very little floor space is also able to cook things.  And tasty things at that.  And they don’t have to be time consuming, or expensive, or fattening.  There is a whole world of cooking that I must do now, and must do well.

Now if you’ll excuse me, my frozen pizza is ready.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

